Chiru, Rajini, Kamal happy about awards

It was a rare occasion when the Government of Andhra Pradesh announced state awards for three of the legendary actors of the previous generation. Megastar Chiranjeevi, Superstar Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan have been given away state awards in recognition of their contribution to cinema.

Chiru has won the Raghupathi Venkaiah Award for the year 2016. In a statement from his office, he says, “I am glad to have been given the prestigious award. I thank the government and the jury’s members for honouring me with an award that was instituted after a legendary personality.”

Superstar Rajinikanth, who has won the NTR National Award for the year 2016, says, “I convey my heartfelt thanks and happiness for the prestigious #NandiAwards granted to me.”

Kamal Haasan, who has won the same award for the year 2014, has this to say: “Congratulations, Superstar Rajinikanth for the NTR National award in 2016. Thank you Andhra for honouring me also, yet again. I am indebted to your continued support, which started early in my career. Kruthagnyathalu.”