Yedyurappa to take oath as new Karnataka CM today

Yedyurappa to take oath as new Karnataka CM today

After the JD(S)-Congress coalition government failed in the trust vote, BJP got the number to form. Today, BS Yedyurappa who met the Governor at Raj Bhavan to stake claim to form the government is going to take oath as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Mr. Yedyurappa who wants to take oath as CM at 12:30 PM, noon today has withdrawn that decision and will swear-in at 6 PM as directed by the Governor, Vajubhai Vala.

BJP High Command will release an official statement as BS Yedyurappa as CM candidate. This is the fourth time that Yedyurappa is CM of Karnataka. And he becomes the only politician in Karnataka who become four times CM.

At first, he became Karnataka CM on 12th November 2007 allying with JD(S).  After the hiccups with JD(S), Yedyurappa resigned as CM and went for the elections in 2008 and became the second term as the CM.

He was forced to step down on 4th August 2011 because of Lokayukta report on mining scam followed by corruption allegations.  

After 2018 elections, he sworn-in as CM for the third time. Later he stepped down as CM for unable to prove majority with 105 seats against JD(S)-Congress alliance. Now with the same number game, BS Yedyurappa is swearing-in ceremony as Karnataka CM for the fourth time.